Saturday, December 29, 2007

Corey's First Stand-Alone Marathon



He did great!  He ran from Folsom to the state capitol in 2 hours and 44 mins!    He drank this thing called "5-Hour Energy," and BOY did it do a good job.  He said that the first half of the marathon he just FLEW and had tons of energy.  About mile 14 or 16, his legs started aching, from the stress of his performance with the energy drink.  But he finished strong!
Dad, Sal, and Poot came to watch Corey finish, so it was really great :o)  The weather was PERFECT for running --sunny and slightly chilly with a light breeze.  That, of course, meant that the spectators would be bundled up, but we were totally comfy.


Jen's conversion


I got so spoiled this year!  After my car, I didn't expect any "big" gifts at all.  Little did I know that Corey was quietly saving up money to surprise me with an iMac this Christmas!  I love it!  It's a 21 inch screen.  The display is a bright LCD picture, so watching movies is fantastic.  The hard drive is 500GB!  500!  My Toshiba laptop is 80GB, so the amount of storage just blows my mind.  I don't think I'll be storing movies on my laptop (I'm sorta "old school" that way... movies can stay on DVDs for the most part.  Why take up valuable room on my hard drive???  Oh, and isn't it funny how quickly "old school" becomes old school in the techno world?  DVDs really only became prevalent about 10 years ago!)  Anyhow, I digress.... back to specs.... the processor, which dictates most of the computer's performance, is an Intel Duo 2 Core and runs 64 bits!  Holy cow!  My Toshiba is just a regular Intel chip with only one core and running 32 bits.  That's like the difference of running information down a two lane road and a six lane highway!  Sigh... it's fantastic.  Dreamy.  I love it.
Now all I have to do is learn the operating system and acquire new software.... :o)

Mini me!


I wrote the following post a few weeks ago, while I was waiting in the doctor's office.  I happened to have my laptop handy ;o).....
Yessss!  It's finally here!  I got my Mini Cooper this weekend!  It's cute and full of spunk.  I love it!!  Thanks to God for the resources to buy this car, and thanks to my honey for spoiling me silly!  My favorite features: the convertible top and the seat warmers.  Hands down.  Riding convertible in December can only be done with a beenie, a sweatshirt, and seat warmers!  Otherwise, I have to keep the top up.  
The experience at our dealership, Universal Mini, was wonderful!  Right from the get-go, it was all straightforward and no-nonsense.  There was no price haggling or anything.  Very WYSIWYG!  Our salesperson, Victoria was awesome.  By the time Corey and I left the dealership on Saturday, Victoria explained how to use every feature of my new car, what all the dashboard indicators looked like and how they behaved, and she even showed us a common mistake that people make in getting themselves locked out of their cars!  (and it IS possible, even with the top down)  Anyhow, sadly for Mini Universal, Victoria will be quitting the dealership soon, to pursue a full time position as a barber.  But hey, whoever goes to that barber shop will be benefitting greatly from her wonderful personality and service!
So... now that I have driven my car and enjoyed it... I have two more orders of business: 1st, I am going to find the best way to cover the backseat and boot (trunk), so that I protect it from Pudge's fur.  2nd, I need to name my car.  Now, I think I have the fur protection under control, but I am open to ideas on the NAME of our new car.  Any ideas?  

Labels: